Untitled‎ > ‎



President Jack Tomassetti revamped the organizational structure of the club the summer before the school year started, with a focus on encouraging all riders to ride and putting more of an emphasis on helping beginner riders.  Membership and activity in the club exploded.  At the first informational club meeting, over 70 people attended, with membership reaching an all time high of 75 members, with over half racing throughout the year.  The club hosted a mountain bike, cyclocross and road race this year.  Despite some setback in the road race, over 160 collegiate racers competed in Tallahassee.  The club also did a cupcake fundraiser and raised $500 to benefit kids with diabetes, supported FSU Police Department's Major Jim Russell with his State-wide Traffic Safety Tour and fight against Drunk Driving, and volunteered with Capital City Cyclists's Spaghetti 100.  The club strategically placed Chris Sandelli on the Sports Club Allocation committee and maximized funding from the school, securing over $5000 in general funding, and an additional $7500 to purchase a MyLaps Chip Timing System to help put on better races. FSU Cycling also won a Gatorade Prize Pack with over 120lbs of Gatorade Mix and Bars for having the largest growing collegiate cycling team in USA Cycling.

FSU Cycling saw growth in the collegiate race season as well.  Newcomers Greg Buker, Sam Fortunas, and Jazz Tomassetti help lead the mountain bike team to a 2nd place Team placing in the SECCC Conference, losing to varsity team Lees-McRae by only 18 points.  Erin Boyle was the team's only injury for the season, with a fractured collar bone at the Conference Championship race.

FSU Cycling took over hosting the Tallahassee Cyclocross Spectacular race to continue the annual race and keep it alive.  The race added a collegiate category that was included in the SECCC cyclocross season and saw 10 members of FSU Cycling competing in cyclocross racing for the first time.  The race also had Olympian and US Elite Triathlon National Champion Jarrod Shoemaker at the race.  He battled against local junior David Berg in an exciting race on the 2nd day.  The team added a 3rd place Team placing in Cyclocross for the season.

Road season saw a very dominant team, especially in the Men's C and Women's team.  Buker, Joe Rawley, Gabe Suarez, Jazz Tomassetti, Kevin Neidorf, Rick Sessa and Jose Roman composed the C-team, with Liz Gerrity, Lauren Baker and the much improved Savannah Sill leading the women's team.  The team saw many victories this season and finished the season as the 2nd place ranked team, behind Lees-McRae.  Jack Tomassetti and Gerrity qualified and competed in Collegiate Road Nationals in Madison, Wi. 

President - Jack Tomassetti
MTB Captain - Chris Carhart
Road Captain - Josh Valentine
Women's Captain - Liz Gerrity
Secretary - Chris Mojock
Treasurer - Chris Sandelli

Alfred Nater
Allyse Price
Amanda Juhr
Asiah Tocan
Bryan Vallejo
Cara Axelrod
Charles Young
Chelsea Albers
Chris Carhart
Chris Mojock
Chris Sandelli
Collin Kettell
Danika Fox
David Friedt
Erik Sunset
Erin Boyle
Ethan Smith
Gabriel Suarez
Garett Barry
Giovanni Vargas
Greg Buker
Gustavo Toledo
Ian McLean
Jack Tomassetti
Jason Brown
Jason McArthur
Jazz Tomassetti
Joe Rawley
John Sheetz
Jonathan Casanas
Jose Roman
Joshua Petersen
Joshua Valentine
Kent Roberts
Kevin Neidorf
Kristy Perry
Lauren Baker
Leigh Graziano
Levar Washington
Liz Gerrity
Mario Montano
Marisa Graves
Mary Ennis
Michelle Demeter
Michelle Strutzel
Mike Larimore
Mitchell Lafer
Monica Nimmo
Nathaniel King
Ray Fischer
Richard Sessa
Roger J. Schmidt
Rylee Pirson
Samantha Fortunas
Samantha Ripley
Santiago Bauj
Santiago Franco
Savannah Sill
Sean Smith
Stacey Zbiciak
Stephen Andon
Tanique Carter
Tyler Lee
Virginia Liddell
Zachary Bartlett